Change to Ukrainian interface versionChange to English interface versionChange to Russian interface versionHome pageClear last query resultsHelp page
Search for specific termsBrowse by subject categoryBrowse alphabetical list of titlesBrowse by organizationBrowse special topic issues

close this bookEducational Innovation and Information - Number 098 (IBE; 1999; 8 pages)
View the documentJAN AMOS COMENIUS
close this folderTHE COMENIUS MEDAL
View the documentMALI - Committee Responsible for the Strategy of Using National Languages and Convergent Pedagogy
View the documentSPAIN - Francisco González Montes
View the documentISLAMIC REPUBLIC OF IRAN - Ferdos Hajian Pashakolace
View the documentPAKISTAN - Shaheen Attiqur Rahman
View the documentBRITISH VIRGIN ISLANDS - Quincy F.V. Lettsome
Open this folder and view contentsINTERNATIONAL BUREAU OF EDUCATION
Open this folder and view contentsWCCES NEWS


This issue of Educational INNOVATION and information is devoted to the winners of the Comenius Medal, one of UNESCO’s most prestigious awards. It is intended to acknowledge the work of those educators who have made a significant contribution to the development or renewal of education. More precisely, it is designed to reward outstanding achievements in the fields of educational research and innovation.

The Ministry of National Education, Youth and Sport of the Czech Republic and UNESCO established the Jan Amos Comenius Medal in 1992 on the occasion of the 400th anniversary of the birth of the great educator.

The medal is awarded every two years to no more than ten laureates during sessions of important UNESCO conferences on education: to individual educators (researchers, teachers, directors of educational projects); or to groups of educators (research teams, curriculum development units, etc.). Candidates are identified through the National Commissions for UNESCO and appropriate non-governmental organizations, as well as through UNESCO’s regional offices and its other specialized educational institutes.

During the first four award ceremonies, a total of some fifty educators received the medal or were granted an honourable mention. While pursuing its mission as an international centre for the content of education, the IBE - which is responsible for the administrative procedures - deemed it important to introduce our readers to the innovative ideas and achievements of the Comenius laureates, and in this way to pay tribute to the entire body of teachers.



• Mr Aliu Babatunde Fafunwa (Nigeria)
• Mrs Nadia Jamal-al-Dine (Egypt)
• Mrs Chitra Naik (India)
• Mr Torsten Husén (Sweden)
• Mr German Rama (Uruguay)
• Foundation for Education with Production-FEP (South Africa)
• Arab Bureau of Education for the Gulf States-ABEGS (Saudi Arabia)
• Asian Cultural Centre for UNESCO-ACCU (Tokyo, Japan)
• École instrument de paix-EIP (Geneva, Switzerland)
• Red Latinoamericana de Información y Documentación en Educación-REDUC (Santiago de Chile, Chile)


• Mr Paolo Freire (Brazil)
• Mr Petr Pitha (Czech Republic)
• Mrs Lourdes R. Quisumbing (Philippines)
• Centro de Estudios Educativos-CEE (Mexico)
• Forum of African Women Educationalists-FAWE (Nairobi, Kenya)
• Higher Colleges of Technology System-HCT (United Arab Emirates)
• Korean Educational Development Institute-KEDI (Republic of Korea)
• South Australian Aboriginal Education Unit, Department of Education and Children Services (Australia)


• Mr Yaacov Agam (Israel)
• Mr Mohamed Charfi (Tunisia)
• Mr José Ramón Gonzalez Pérez (Venezuela)
• Mrs Ruth Lerner de Almea (Venezuela)
• Mrs Ruth Olive Limerick (Antigua and Barbuda)
• Mr Samuel Roller (Switzerland)
• Mr Maitland Stobart (United Kingdom)
• Mr Xu Bailun (China)
• Secondary Science Team, Curriculum Development Unit (Zimbabwe)


• Mrs Cecilia Braslavsky (Argentina)
• Mr Ladislav Cerych (Czech Republic)
• Mr Burton R. Clark (United States of America)
• Mr Naguib Abu Haydar (Lebanon)
• Mrs Lydia Makhubu (Swaziland)
• Mrs Shaheen Attiqur Rahman (Pakistan)
• Mr René Rémond (France)
• Mr Ulrich Teichler (Germany)
• Mr Prawase Wasi (Thailand)
• Committee Responsible for the Strategy of Using National Languages and Convergent Pedagogy, National Institute of Education (Mali)

Honourable mentions

• Mr Derek Bok (United States of America)
• Mr Jorge Brovetto (Uruguay)
• Mr Francisco Gonzalez Montes (Spain)
• Mr Ferdos Hajian Pashakolace (Islamic Republic of Iran)
• Mrs Palmira Juceviciene (Lithuania)
• Mr A. A. Krasnovsky (Russian Federation)-Posthumous award
• Mr Quincy Lettsome (British Virgin Islands)
• Mr Darcy Ribeiro (Brazil)-Posthumous award
• College of Science, Faculty of Science, University of Witwatersrand (South Africa)
• Una Empresa Docente, University of the Andes (Colombia)

to previous section to next section

[Ukrainian]  [English]  [Russian]